News

View past news and announcements from Perimeter Institute.

  

Friday Mar 04, 2016

Neil Turok wins prestigious Tate Medal from the American Institute of Physics, donates prize money to African Institute for Mathematical Sciences.

Thursday Feb 25, 2016

The 2016 provincial budget, tabled in Toronto on February 25, commits to continued investment in Perimeter Institute’s scientific research, training, and educational outreach activities.

Tuesday Feb 23, 2016

Despite making up the vast majority of stuff in our universe, dark matter remains invisible. But perhaps it’s not inaudible.

Black holes collide, and generate gravitational waves

Thursday Feb 11, 2016

Evidence of “ripples in spacetime” detected by the LIGO Scientific Collaboration marks the dawn of gravitational wave astronomy, say Perimeter researchers.

black hole simulation

Tuesday Jan 19, 2016

Einstein's theory of general relativity may soon be put to the ultimate test through measurements of a black hole's shadow, says a pair of Perimeter researchers. 

Monday Jan 11, 2016

Perimeter researchers show how the largest possible structure – the curvature of the universe as a whole – can be used as a lens onto the smallest objects observable today, elementary particles.

Wednesday Jan 06, 2016

Perimeter researchers Flavio Mercati, Elliot Nelson, and Niayesh Afshordi have won first and third places in the second annual Buchalter Cosmology Prize competition. 

Friday Dec 18, 2015

To celebrate the centenary year of Einstein’s theory of general relativity and Emmy Noether’s development of her eponymous theorems, the latest issue of Inside the Perimeter examines and celebrates science past, present, and future.

Monday Dec 14, 2015

Perimeter takes a look back at an illuminating year of science. 

Black hole simulation

Thursday Dec 03, 2015

The international EHT research team, including Perimeter's Avery Broderick, has measured for the first time the magnetic fields that contribute to black hole growth.

Thursday Nov 26, 2015

Running sophisticated simulations on a powerful supercomputer, an international research team has glimpsed the unique turbulence that fuels stellar explosions.

Jaron Lanier makes a tetrahedron with his fingers.

Monday Nov 16, 2015

Perimeter talks with virtual reality pioneer Jaron Lanier about “fashionable” science, the problems with money, and whether we should make math physical.

Friday Nov 06, 2015

Sean Begy, a first-year science student at Queens University, has won this year’s Luke Santi Award for Student Achievement.

Friday Nov 06, 2015

Ontario’s Ministry of Education and Perimeter Institute have launched a project to reach more of Ontario’s youth, including those in underserviced areas, through expanded Perimeter programming.

Monday Nov 02, 2015

New elementary school outreach program starts with a guided tour of the cosmos.

Tuesday Oct 27, 2015

Physics has lost a true pioneer as well as a friend and inspiration to many in Leo Kadanoff, whose insights helped shape our modern understanding of nature. 

Monday Oct 19, 2015

Emmy Noether Fellow Sarah Shandera finds the best response to lingering inequality in science is to ditch the anger and funnel that energy into her work.

Nobel Prize medal

Tuesday Oct 06, 2015

Perimeter Institute congratulates Board member Arthur B. McDonald on winning the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Monday Oct 05, 2015

Perimeter Institute has been invited by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston to serve as a “Nominating Partner” for the Governor General’s Innovation Awards. 

William Witczak-Krempa

Wednesday Sep 30, 2015

Perimeter collaborators propose a new way to compare vastly different theories: go through the corners.

CBC Ideas at Perimeter

Friday Sep 18, 2015

How important is imagination in physics? CBC Ideas host Paul Kennedy asks Perimeter Institute researchers. Listen to their answers in the CBC Podcast.

Wednesday Sep 16, 2015

Perimeter physicist Matteo Smerlak helps uncover a new predator-prey power law that shapes biomass scaling across ecosystems.

Perimeter Faculty member Bianca Dittrich

Tuesday Aug 25, 2015

The From Discretuum to Continuum Initiative aims to bridge the gap between the subatomic scale and spacetime.

Tuesday Jul 28, 2015

The International Summer School for Young Physicists (ISSYP) gives likeminded high-schoolers from around the world a chance to get hands-on with physics at Perimeter Institute. 

Monday Jul 13, 2015

EinsteinPlus workshop brings together teachers from around the world to re-imagine physics in the classroom. 

Pages

Find out what's happening at Perimeter Institute.