Woman talking to group of highschool girls

Saluer les femmes en sciences

L’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a proclamé le 11 février Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science. Voyez ici les nombreuses manières dont l’Institut Périmètre appuie cette initiative en février et tout au long de l’année.

Aller à :

Inspirer les futures scientifiques — Questions et réponses en direct

Pour souligner la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science proclamée par les Nations Unies, nous avons réuni une astronome, une ingénieure chimiste, une étudiante en médecine et une professionnelle de la construction et de la gestion d’installations. Elles ont répondu aux questions d’élèves du secondaire sur les aspects gratifiants, les défis et les possibilités d’une carrière dans ces domaines.

La séance de questions et réponses en direct sur le thème Inspirer les futures scientifiques a eu lieu le 10 février 2022. Vous pouvez visionner l’enregistrement de la séance et d’autres activités dans la liste de lecture de notre canal YouTube.

Invitées à la séance de questions et réponses en direct

Woman wearing a black coat standing outside in front of a white telescope

Laurie Rousseau-Nepton
Astronome en résidence, Télescope Canada-France-Hawaï

Formation : Ph.D. en physique et astronomie, Université Laval, M.Sc. en physique et astronomie, Université Laval, B.Sc. en physique, Université Laval

Laurie Rousseau-Nepton est astronome en résidence à l’Observatoire Canada-France-Hawaï et a été boursière postdoctorale du Fonds québécois de la recherche sur la nature et les technologies de 2017 à 2019. Première femme autochtone au Canada à obtenir un doctorat en astrophysique, elle a eu son diplôme à l’Université Laval en étudiant les pouponnières d’étoiles dans les galaxies spirales. Laurie Rousseau-Nepton avait reçu auparavant la bourse Hubert-Reeves et le Prix pour femmes scientifiques autochtones de l’Association des femmes diplômées des universités du Québec. Elle dirige maintenant le projet international SIGNALS, qui vise à observer des milliers d’étoiles récemment formées dans des galaxies voisines de la Voie lactée, afin de comprendre l’influence de leur lieu de naissance sur la suite de leur vie et sur l’évolution des galaxies. Vous pouvez consulter le site Web de Laurie Rousseau-Nepton.

 

Woman in a grey knit sweater holding a hard hat and standing in an office

Yumna Nasir
Directrice nationale de l’exploitation, Technologie, société Plan Group

Formation : Baccalauréat en technologie appliquée (B.A.Tech.), Collège Conestoga

Yumna Nasir a grandi à Waterloo et est diplômée du programme d’architecture et de gestion de projets et d’installations du collège Conestoga. Elle est actuellement directrice nationale de l’exploitation, Technologie, pour la société Plan Group. Elle travaille avec une équipe d’ingénieurs, de concepteurs, de directeurs, de gestionnaires de projets, de superviseurs, et bien d’autres personnes, afin de livrer aux clients des bâtiments évolués de grande taille — hôpitaux, palais de justice, arénas, tours à bureaux, etc. — et d’une valeur de plusieurs milliards de dollars. Au sein de Plan Group, elle a développé le service d’ingénierie et de conception technologiques, afin que les projets menés au Canada et à l’étranger bénéficient des progrès constants de la technologie. Yumna est passionnée de construction en vue de l’avenir et dans une optique qui facilite le fonctionnement quotidien de notre société. Elle est en outre membre du comité consultatif sur les projets du Collège Conestoga et contribue à mettre les étudiants en contact avec les défis du monde réel et avec des expériences durables. LinkedIn, société Plan Group.

 

Woman in yellow shirt and grey pants sitting in a motorized wheelchair

Emily Ackerman
Postdoctorante en biologie des systèmes à la Faculté de médecine de Harvard
Membre du conseil d’administration de l’organisme Future of Research

Formation : Ph.D. en génie chimique, Université de Pittsburgh; B.Sc. en génie chimique, Institut polytechnique Rensselaer

Emily Ackerman est postdoctorante au Département de biologie des systèmes à la Faculté de médecine de Harvard. Ses travaux au sein du laboratoire de Galit Lahav font appel à des méthodes informatiques pour comprendre la dynamique de signalisation du facteur de transcription p53. Elle a récemment obtenu son doctorat en génie chimique à l’Université de Pittsburgh, où elle était bénéficiaire d’une bourse Gilliam de l’Institut médical Howard-Hughes. En tant que chercheuse et personne handicapée, Emily Ackerman milite pour la justice en matière de handicaps, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du milieu universitaire, et s’intéresse particulièrement aux interactions entre handicap, technologie et éducation. Elle a publié des articles et donné des conférences publiques sur son identité en tant que femme handicapée dans le domaine de l’Informatique et sur son expérience avec la manière dont les domaines de science et technologie excluent les voix des personnes handicapées. Emily est en outre membre du conseil d’administration de l’organisme Future of Research, dont elle codirige le groupe de travail sur l’emploi, qui vise à évaluer et à améliorer les conditions d’emploi des travailleurs universitaires. Twitter : @EmilyEAckerman; site Web.

 

Woman wearing a black dress standing outside in a hallway

Ella Chan (elle)
Fondatrice de STEM-Files et spécialiste des communications à l’aide des médias numériques, Genome BC

Formation : Doctorat en médecine (en cours), UBC; 3 années du B.Sc. en pharmacologie, UBC

Ella Chan est en première année de médecine à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC) à Vancouver. Elle s’est intéressée à la médecine et aux sciences à cause de la maladie rénale de son frère, et cherche depuis lors des occasions de participer à la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques au moyen de médias plus accessibles. À l’âge de 12 ans, elle a lancé un canal YouTube, appelé Sci Files, qui vise à encourager tout le monde à faire des études dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, du génie, des arts et des mathématiques. Elle a reçu le prix Presidential Scholars de l’UBC, de même que le prix Horizon STIAM d’Ingenium et du CRSNG en 2018. Elle est en outre membre du Groupe consultatif jeunesse de l’UNESCO en sciences naturelles et travaille comme spécialiste des communications à l’aide des médias numériques chez Genome BC. Instagram et Twitter : @Stem_files; YouTube; LinkedIn.

 

Activités à venir

L’Institut Périmètre cherche à obtenir la participation de diverses mentores dans les domaines des STGM à cette activité annuelle organisée dans le cadre de la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science. Si vous souhaitez témoigner de votre expérience lors d’une prochaine activité, veuillez communiquer avec nous, à [email protected].

À quoi ressemble la vie d'une physicienne?

Illustration with women's faces and some science graphics

 

Des étudiantes, des chercheuses et des membres du personnel de l’Institut Périmètre font part de leur expérience, afin de souligner la Journée internationale des femmes et des filles de science. Lisez leurs témoignages ici.

Forces of Nature poster series

Illustration of portraits of women's faces

Women have been historically under-represented in physics; progress is happening, but there is much work to be done. Part of making positive change includes celebrating the contributions women have made to science, especially those women overlooked in their time.

That’s why Perimeter Institute has created the free “Forces of Nature” poster series. New posters have been released in time for IDWGS 2022. Download your copies here and read more about the pioneering women of stellar astronomy here.

Jeu d’évasion du Musée des forces de la nature

Collage of illustrations of famous women's faces

 

Dans ce jeu d’évasion en ligne gratuit, vous êtes accidentellement enfermés lors de la fermeture du Musée des forces de la nature. Vous devrez relever une série de défis pour pouvoir sortir! Il vous faudra faire preuve de logique et de créativité. Des connaissances avancées en mathématiques ne sont pas nécessaires, mais les plus jeunes membres de votre famille préféreront peut-être ces images à colorier. Jouez à la version en ligne ou téléchargez la version à faire en classe.

Commanditaire principal

Linamar logo

Commanditaire principal

Woman talking to group of highschool girls

Celebrating women in science

The United Nations General Assembly has declared February 11 the International Day of Women and Girls in Science. Keep reading to explore the many ways Perimeter Institute supports this initiative in February and throughout the year.

Jump to:

Inspiring Future Women in Science — Live Q&A

In celebration of the UN International Day of Women and Girls in Science, we brought together an astronomer, a chemical engineer, a medical student, and a construction and facility management professional to answer high school students’ questions about the rewards, challenges, and possibilities of a career in these fields.

Inspiring Future Women in Science – Live Q&A took place on Thursday, February 10, 2022. You can watch the recording as well as other events in the series on our YouTube channel.

Live Q&A guests:

Woman wearing a black coat standing outside in front of a white telescope

Laurie Rousseau-Nepton
Resident Astronomer, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope

Education: PhD Physics and Astronomy, University Laval, MSc Physics and Astronomy, University Laval, BSc Physics, Université Laval 

Laurie Rousseau-Nepton is a resident astronomer at the Canada-France-Hawaii Observatory and was a FRQNT postdoctoral fellow at the University of Hawaii between 2017 and 2019. First indigenous woman in Canada to obtain a PhD in astrophysics, she received her diploma from Université Laval by studying regions of stellar formation in spiral galaxies. Laurie Rousseau-Nepton previously received the Hubert Reeves Fellowship and the Award for native women in sciences of the Association des femmes diplômées des universités du Québec. She is now leading an international project called SIGNALS, aiming at observing thousands of newly born stars in galaxies close to the Milky Way to understand how their birthplace affect the rest of their life and the galaxies evolution. You can visit Laurie's website here.

 

Woman in a grey knit sweater holding a hard hat and standing in an office

Yumna Nasir
National Director of Operations – Technology, Plan Group

Education: Bachelor of Applied Technology (B.A.Tech.), Conestoga College

Yumna Nasir grew up in Waterloo and graduated from Conestoga’s Architecture, Project & Facilities Management Degree Program. She is currently the National Director of Operations – Technology for Plan Group where she works alongside a team of engineers, designers, directors, project managers, site supers and many others, to deliver some of the largest and advanced, multi-billion dollar hospitals, courthouses, arenas, commercial towers and more. At Plan Group she has grown the Engineering and Design arm of Technology so that projects in Canada and internationally can be supported by the leaps and bounds that technology makes daily. Yumna is passionate about building for the future and building in a way that helps our day-to-day society move with ease. She is also a member of the Project Advisory Committee at Conestoga and helps to connect students with real world challenges and life-long experiences. LinkedIn, Plan Group

 

Woman in yellow shirt and grey pants sitting in a motorized wheelchair

Emily Ackerman
Postdoctoral Researcher in Systems Biology at Harvard Medical School
Board of Directors at Future of Research

Education: PhD Chemical Engineering, University of Pittsburgh; BS Chemical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Dr. Emily Ackerman is a postdoctoral researcher in the Systems Biology department at Harvard Medical School. Her work in the Lahav Lab uses computational methods to understand p53 signalling dynamics. She recently completed her Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh where she was supported by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute as a Gilliam Fellow. As a disabled researcher, Emily is devoted to activism surrounding disability justice both inside and outside of academia with a particular interest in the interaction between disability, technology, and education. She has published writings and spoken publicly on her identity as a disabled woman in computational science and her experience with the way science and technology fields exclude disabled voices. In addition, Emily serves on the board of directors of Future of Research and co-leads the Labor Task Force, a project aimed at assessing and improving the labor conditions of academic workers. Twitter: @EmilyEAckerman, Website

 

Woman wearing a black dress standing outside in a hallway

Ella Chan (she/her)
Founder of STEM-Files, Genome BC Digital Media Outreach Specialist

Education: Doctor of Medicine (in progress), UBC; 3 years toward BSc Pharmacology, UBC

Ella Chan is in her first year at UBC Medicine in Vancouver, BC. She first became interested in medicine and science because of her brother's kidney condition and has since been looking for opportunities to get involved in the knowledge translation of science into more accessible media. She started a YouTube channel, Sci Files, when she was twelve, which is dedicated to encouraging all to pursue degrees in STEAM fields. Ella is a recipient of the UBC Presidential Scholars Award and the 2018 Ingenium-NSERC STEAM Horizon Award. She is also a member of the UNESCO Youth Advisory Group in the Natural Sciences and works as Genome BC's Digital Media Outreach Specialist. Instagram & Twitter: @Stem_files, YouTube, LinkedIn

Future events:

Perimeter Institute seeks to involve a diverse group of STEM mentors in this annual event supporting the UN's International Day of Women and Girls in Science. If you are interested in sharing your story at a future event, please contact us at [email protected].

What is it like to be a woman in physics?

Illustration with women's faces and some science graphics

 

Perimeter students, researchers, and staff share their experiences in celebration of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science. Read their stories here.

 

Forces of Nature poster series

Illustration of portraits of women's faces

Women have been historically under-represented in physics; progress is happening, but there is much work to be done. Part of making positive change includes celebrating the contributions women have made to science, especially those women overlooked in their time.

That’s why Perimeter Institute has created the free “Forces of Nature” poster series. New posters have been released in time for IDWGS 2022. Download your copies here and read more about the pioneering women of stellar astronomy here.

Escape the museum

Collage of illustrations of famous women's faces

In this free online escape room activity, you are accidentally locked in the Forces of Nature Museum after it closes, and will need to solve a series of challenges to escape! The puzzles require logic and creativity; advanced mathematical skills are not required but the youngest members of your household might prefer these colouring pages instead. Play the online version or download the classroom edition.

Presenting partner

Linamar logo

Past IFWIS events