Official news about, and announcements from, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.


Thursday Jun 28, 2012

Perimeter Associate Faculty members David Cory and Michele Mosca, both jointly appointed with the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) at the University of Waterloo, have received major federal grants worth $1.65 million each to launch cutting-edge training and mentorship programs for young Canadian scientists.

Wednesday Jun 20, 2012

The City of Waterloo has selected Perimeter Institute to receive its top Urban Design Award for 2012. This award is given to a project that demonstrates the "highest standard of urban design excellence as the best overall project in the city."

Wednesday Jun 20, 2012

A team of scientists that includes a recent recruit to Perimeter's faculty has won a major cosmology prize. Kendrick Smith, who joins Perimeter's faculty in September 2012, is a member of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team. The team has just been announced as the winners of the 2012 Gruber Cosmology Prize.

Friday May 18, 2012

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has selected the Stephen Hawking Centre at Perimeter Institute (SHC) for a major honour. Designed by Teeple Architects, the SHC is one of 15 structures from around the world that received a design excellence designation at the OAA's 2012 Awards ceremony, held on May 11.

Friday May 04, 2012

Perimeter Faculty member Pedro Vieira has received an Early Researcher Award (ERA) from Ontario's Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation.

Friday May 04, 2012

We have a model for quantum gravity that would work in a simplified universe of two dimensions. For decades, researchers have been trying to create an analogous model that would work in the real universe. Now, a Perimeter researcher has made a discovery about models of random geometry that may get us there.

Monday Apr 30, 2012

Expanding its international scope, Perimeter Institute has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the International Centre for Theoretical Physics – South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR). ICTP-SAIFR is a recently-created South American centre for theoretical physics located at the State University of São Paulo (UNESP) in Brazil.

Monday Apr 30, 2012

Two Perimeter faculty members have been honoured with medals from the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP). Robert Myers has won the CAP-TRIUMF Vogt Medal, recognizing outstanding contributions to subatomic physics. Freddy Cachazo has been awarded the CAP Herzberg Medal, which honours outstanding achievement by a physicist early in their career.

Friday Apr 20, 2012

Over the last few decades, it's become clear to astrophysicists that the parts of the universe we can see – stars and any other astronomical objects that are luminous – are not nearly massive enough to account for the way galaxies are structured.

Friday Mar 30, 2012

The team behind Perimeter Institute’s dynamic new info wall was recently honoured with an Apex Award at the Digital Signage Expo (DSE). The event is the world's largest and longest-running international conference dedicated to content and technologies involving the innovative application of digital signage.

Thursday Mar 08, 2012

Celebrating Women in Physics - In honour of International Women's Day, Perimeter salutes the great female physicists of the past century.

Raymond Laflamme

Tuesday Feb 28, 2012

Perimeter Institute Associate Faculty member Raymond Laflamme, who is also the Executive Director of the nearby Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) at the University of Waterloo, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honour with more than 130 years of tradition dating back to 1874.

Monday Feb 27, 2012

New Teacher's resource now available for pre-ordering.

Wednesday Feb 22, 2012

Perimeter Institute Founder and Board Chair on need to "think big and be bold" at AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada

Tuesday Feb 14, 2012

Perimeter Institute joined representatives from across Waterloo Region, Ontario, and Canada to take part in the AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, B.C.

Saturday Dec 31, 2011

One of Perimeter's founding members has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Monday Dec 12, 2011

World-renowned scientist and SNO Director, Art McDonald, joins Board of Directors at Perimeter Institute.

Wednesday Nov 30, 2011

Don't miss the 5-minute video on Stephen Hawking, along with a full-length panel discussion on the power of big ideas.

Tuesday Nov 29, 2011

Perimeter Faculty members Philip Schuster and Natalia Toro use existing accelerators to look for forces beyond the known four.

Tuesday Nov 29, 2011

Romina Abachi named the 2011 recipient of the Luke Santi Memorial Award.

Thursday Oct 27, 2011

A $2 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation will support this exciting, new program.

Friday Sep 16, 2011

Condensed matter theoreist Xiao-Gang Wen will be joining Perimeter Institute as the BMO Financial Group Isaac Newton Chair in Theoretical Physics.  

Friday Sep 16, 2011

Partnership in Science Communication to Advance Ideas Throughout Ontario and Beyond.

Friday Sep 09, 2011

Perimeter faculty member Cachazo, wins the 2011 Rutherford Medal in Physics from the Royal Society of Canada.

Tuesday Sep 06, 2011

Senegal is the new home of the next centre of the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences.