News

Official news about, and announcements from, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.

 

Thursday Aug 15, 2019

At Perimeter’s International Summer School for Young Physicists, students from Canada and around the world sample current research topics, visit renowned institutions, and form lasting friendships.

Friday Jun 28, 2019

Launched in just six weeks, this master’s course has become a powerhouse in physics education.

Lena Funcke

Friday Jun 14, 2019

Perimeter postdoctoral researcher Lena Funcke is the recipient of this year’s Dieter Rampacher Prize, awarded by the Max Planck Society to its youngest PhD graduate.

Friday Jun 14, 2019

Chiamaka Okoli was a remarkable and highly accomplished young African scientist, colleague, and friend.

Thursday Jun 13, 2019

The Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education honoured Perimeter’s efforts with two Prix d’Excellence awards.

Wednesday Jun 12, 2019

Karen Kennedy-Allin and Sarah Torrie have received awards for excellence in teaching.

Friday Jun 07, 2019

Longtime Perimeter Faculty member is recognized for pioneering work in string theory and quantum field theory.

Tuesday May 07, 2019

Perimeter PhD student Anna Golubeva is honoured for her interdisciplinary research.

Friday Mar 08, 2019

Perimeter is set to welcome the next group of Simons Emmy Noether Visiting Fellows – eight talented physicists spanning a range of specialties.

Thursday Feb 28, 2019

Robert Myers, an internationally recognized Canadian theoretical physicist, has been named the Institute’s new Director after an exhaustive international search.

Homme vêtu d'une chemise bleue et lunettes sourit à la caméra. Ouvrez atrium intérieur derrière lui.

Friday Feb 22, 2019

For Perimeter’s newest faculty member, the messy challenges of complex quantum systems can reveal an irresistible beauty.

Le prix de cosmologie Buchalter

Wednesday Jan 09, 2019

Perimeter researchers Davide Racco and Matthew Johnson were among the winners of the 2018 Buchalter Cosmology Prize, marking the fifth consecutive year that multiple Perimeter scientists have been honoured.

Thursday Dec 20, 2018

Perimeter Institute and Canada’s National Research Council have created a pair of postdoctoral fellowships for exceptional emerging radio astronomers.

Tuesday Dec 18, 2018

As another year draws to a close, we take a look at some of the year’s top news in Perimeter science, outreach, partnerships, and more. 

Friday Nov 30, 2018

Perimeter has taken another step to better support and encourage diversity in physics with the appointment of its first Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Specialist.

Tuesday Nov 13, 2018

From climate change to gravitational waves, three new classroom resources give students a deep dive into modern physics.

Aidan Richards reçoit le prix Luke Santi

Wednesday Nov 07, 2018

Aidan Richards, a first-year physics student at Queen’s University, is this year’s recipient Perimeter’s Luke Santi Memorial Award for Student Achievement.

Thursday Nov 01, 2018

Fellowships named in honour of Stephen Hawking, Jocelyn Bell Burnell, and other physics pioneers will support the path-breaking research of new Perimeter postdoctoral researchers. 

Tuesday Oct 30, 2018

Perimeter’s new undergraduate summer program will broaden horizons for top physics students.

Thursday Oct 18, 2018

French adaptation of intensive summer workshop EinsteinPlus a resounding success at Trois-Rivières, Québec.

Tuesday Oct 02, 2018

For her pioneering work in lasers, University of Waterloo professor Donna Strickland becomes the third woman in history to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics. 

Dirac Medal winners

Wednesday Aug 15, 2018

Subir Sachdev, Dam Thanh Son, and Xiao-Gang Wen have been recognized for their outstanding work on many-body systems.

ISSYP students on the final day of the program

Monday Aug 13, 2018

A group of 40 high school students from across the world explore the curiosities and possibilities of theoretical physics at Perimeter’s International Summer School for Young Physicists.

Ue-Li Pen

Tuesday Aug 07, 2018

Theoretical astrophysicist Ue-Li Pen has received a prestigious award from the Simons Foundation to tackle big questions about the universe.

2018 Vanier Scolars

Friday Aug 03, 2018

They came to Canada chasing big questions. What they found is a country willing to invest in their potential to find answers.

Pages