News

COVID-19 information for researchers and visitors

Official news about, and announcements from, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.

 

Thursday Mar 26, 2020

Mackenzie Pereira, a first-year physics student at McGill University, is this year’s recipient of Perimeter’s Luke Santi Memorial Award for Student Achievement.

Two men in front of a large crowd

Thursday Mar 05, 2020

A new collaboration between Canada's National Research Council and Perimeter Institute will facilitate leading-edge astrophysics and quantum research.

Friday Feb 21, 2020

Researchers in quantum computing and strong gravity are cross appointed with Ontario universities.

Monday Jan 06, 2020

Perimeter Associate Faculty member Niayesh Afshordi has earned the 2019 Buchalter Cosmology Prize — marking the sixth consecutive year the prize has recognized Perimeter research.

Friday Dec 20, 2019

Perimeter reflects on a year of bold science – on every scale.

Friday Nov 15, 2019

Kevin Costello lauded for his efforts to bring mathematics and physics closer.

Perimeter PhD graduate Giacomo Torlai

Wednesday Nov 06, 2019

A Perimeter PhD graduate has been recognized for his trailblazing doctoral work integrating machine learning into experimental quantum physics.

Tuesday Nov 05, 2019

The Canadian philanthropic organization has increased and extended its visionary support of Perimeter Institute’s research at the intersections of physics and mathematics.

Thursday Oct 17, 2019

Sebastian Steinhaus aims to extend use of numerics in quantum gravity and bring more voices into the field – and science itself.

Tuesday Oct 08, 2019

James Peebles’ groundbreaking insights into the radiation leftover from the big bang laid the foundation for the transformation of cosmology from speculation to science.

Thursday Sep 05, 2019

Perimeter researchers share in the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics awarded to the Event Horizon Telescope collaboration, while Kendrick Smith and Pedro Vieira each win New Horizons in Physics Prizes.

Programme d'été 2019 de premier cycle en physique théorique à l'Institut Perimeter

Wednesday Sep 04, 2019

This summer, 20 of the world’s top undergraduate students stepped out of the classroom and up to the chalkboards as part of the inaugural Undergraduate Theoretical Physics Summer Program at Perimeter Institute.

Thursday Aug 15, 2019

At Perimeter’s International Summer School for Young Physicists, students from Canada and around the world sample current research topics, visit renowned institutions, and form lasting friendships.

Friday Jun 28, 2019

Launched in just six weeks, this master’s course has become a powerhouse in physics education.

Lena Funcke

Friday Jun 14, 2019

Perimeter postdoctoral researcher Lena Funcke is the recipient of this year’s Dieter Rampacher Prize, awarded by the Max Planck Society to its youngest PhD graduate.

Friday Jun 14, 2019

Chiamaka Okoli was a remarkable and highly accomplished young African scientist, colleague, and friend.

Thursday Jun 13, 2019

The Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education honoured Perimeter’s efforts with two Prix d’Excellence awards.

Wednesday Jun 12, 2019

Karen Kennedy-Allin and Sarah Torrie have received awards for excellence in teaching.

Friday Jun 07, 2019

Longtime Perimeter Faculty member is recognized for pioneering work in string theory and quantum field theory.

Tuesday May 07, 2019

Perimeter PhD student Anna Golubeva is honoured for her interdisciplinary research.

Friday Mar 08, 2019

Perimeter is set to welcome the next group of Simons Emmy Noether Visiting Fellows – eight talented physicists spanning a range of specialties.

Thursday Feb 28, 2019

Robert Myers, an internationally recognized Canadian theoretical physicist, has been named the Institute’s new Director after an exhaustive international search.

Homme vêtu d'une chemise bleue et lunettes sourit à la caméra. Ouvrez atrium intérieur derrière lui.

Friday Feb 22, 2019

For Perimeter’s newest faculty member, the messy challenges of complex quantum systems can reveal an irresistible beauty.

Le prix de cosmologie Buchalter

Wednesday Jan 09, 2019

Perimeter researchers Davide Racco and Matthew Johnson were among the winners of the 2018 Buchalter Cosmology Prize, marking the fifth consecutive year that multiple Perimeter scientists have been honoured.

Thursday Dec 20, 2018

Perimeter Institute and Canada’s National Research Council have created a pair of postdoctoral fellowships for exceptional emerging radio astronomers.

Pages