New Horizons In Fundamental Physics

This course is an introduction to some of the most exciting ideas in fundamental physics. The topics are chosen to represent areas of research currently conducted at Perimeter Institute. Each topic will be discussed for one or two weeks and will be lectured by a leading young researcher in each field. From deep conceptual issues on the meaning of quantum theory, passing through very sophisticated theories like string theory and loop quantum gravity all the way to cosmology and quantum information theory, this course is a challenging intellectual adventure.

 

Thursday Apr 03, 2008

A brief history of our cosmic beginnings, Cosmic Microwave Background. How galaxies form and the existence of dark matter.

 

Tuesday Apr 01, 2008

A brief history of our cosmic beginnings, Cosmic Microwave Background. How galaxies form and the existence of dark matter.

 

Thursday Mar 27, 2008

A brief history of our cosmic beginnings, Cosmic Microwave Background. How galaxies form and the existence of dark matter.

 

Tuesday Mar 25, 2008

A brief history of our cosmic beginnings, Cosmic Microwave Background. How galaxies form and the existence of dark matter.

Scientific Areas: 

 

Thursday Mar 20, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Teleportation, quantum key distribution, and quantum algorithms.

 

Tuesday Mar 18, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Teleportation, quantum key distribution, and quantum algorithms.

 

Thursday Mar 13, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Teleportation, quantum key distribution, and quantum algorithms.

 

Tuesday Mar 11, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Teleportation, quantum key distribution, and quantum algorithms.

 

Thursday Mar 06, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Strings vs. particles. Branes and Holography in quantum gravity.

 

Thursday Feb 28, 2008
Speaker(s): 

Interferometry, measurement and interpretation. Beyond the quanta.

Pages