Le contenu de cette page n’est pas disponible en français. Veuillez nous en excuser.

Quantum Criticality: Gauge Fields and Matter

Conference Date: 
Lundi, Mai 25, 2020 (All day) to Vendredi, Mai 29, 2020 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Condensed Matter


Ever more efficient numerical methods, such as quantum Monte Carlo sampling of expanded classes of known sign-problem-free models and tensor network methods, have enabled unbiased studies of a number of exotic phases and continuous phase transitions, such as those involving topological phases and emergent gauge fields. The phenomena of interest often arise in simple looking designer models, which are attractive to a wide variety of theorists, including those who study condensed matter, high energy physics, and quantum information. This broad appeal stems from the fact that these models can be viewed as interesting models of materials, as regularizations of strongly coupled quantum field theories, or as playgrounds to study highly entangled quantum systems.

This interdisciplinary workshop thus aims to bring together researchers with the goal of facilitating an exchange of ideas for understanding these models using diverse numerical methods and from the field-theoretic point of view.

We expect to limit the participation to around 50 participants.

To register for this conference, please click here.


  • Fakher Assaad, University of Wuerzburg 
  • Simon Catterall, Syracuse University 
  • Christoff Gatringer, University of Graz
  • Snir Gazit, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Simon Hands, Swansea University
  • Yin-Chen He, Perimeter Institute
  • Igor Herbut, Simon Fraser University
  • Nikhil Karthik, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Zi Yang Meng, The University of Hong Kong & Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Rajamani Narayanan, Florida International University
  • Subir Sachdev, Harvard University
  • Anders Sandvik, Boston University
  • Michael Scherer, University of Cologne
  • Senthil Todadri, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Nandini Trivedi, Ohio State University
  • Chong Wang, Perimeter Institute
  • Stefan Wessel, RWTH Aachen University
  • Uwe-Jens Wiese, University of Bern
  • Hong Yao, Institute for Advanced Study, Tsinghua University

Scientific Organizers:

  • Shailesh Chandrasekharan, Duke University
  • Emilie Huffman, Perimeter Institute
  • Ribhu Kaul, University of Kentucky