Emmy Noether Workshop: The Structure of Quantum Space Time

Conference Date: 
Monday, November 18, 2019 (All day) to Friday, November 22, 2019 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Quantum Fields and Strings
Quantum Gravity


Understanding the small-scale structure of spacetime is one of the biggest challenges faced by  modern theoretical physics. There are many different attempts to solve this problem and they reflect the diversity of approaches to quantum gravity. This workshop will bring together researchers from a wide range of quantum gravity approaches and give them an opportunity to exchange ideas and gain  new insights.

Funding for this workshop has been provided by the Simons Foundation.

  • Abhay Ashtekar, Pennsylvania State University
  • Dorothea Bahns, University of Goettingen
  • Beatrice Bonga, Perimeter Institute
  • Steve Carlip, University of California, Davis
  • Alejandra Castro, University of Amsterdam
  • Marina Cortes, University of Edinburgh 
  • Fay Dowker, Imperial College London
  • Maïté Dupuis, Perimeter Institute
  • Astrid Eichhorn, Heidelberg University & University of Southern Denmark
  • Netta Engelhardt, Princeton University
  • Lisa Glaser, Radboud University of Nijmegen
  • Ruth Gregory, Durham University
  • Ted Jacobson, University of Maryland
  • Wei Li, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Renate Loll, Radboud University of Nijmegen
  • Catherine Meusburger, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Sylvie Paycha, University of Postdam
  • Nicola Pinamonti, University of Genova
  • Mairi Sakellariadou, Kings College London
  • Didina Serban, CEA Saclay
  • Rafael Sorkin, Perimeter Institute
  • Reiko Toriumi, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
  • Silke Weinfurtner, University of Nottingham
  • Yasaman Yazdi, Imperial College London
  • Lin-Qin Chen, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
  • Cecilia Chirenti, Federal University of ABC
  • Pierre Clavier, University of Potsdam
  • Alfonso Garmendia, University of Potsdam
  • Ian Jubb, Imperial College London
  • Barak Shoshany, Perimeter Institute
  • Lee Smolin, Perimeter Institute
  • Alexander Spies, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Thomas Voss, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Dianjun Zhao, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Scientific Organizers:

  • Bianca Dittrich, Perimeter Institute
  • Katarzyna Rejzner, University of York
  • Sumati Surya, Raman Research Institute