Dynamics and Black Hole Imaging

Conference Date: 
Monday, August 12, 2019 (All day) to Friday, August 23, 2019 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Strong Gravity


With the advent of black hole imaging, we are now moving forward to black hole cinema.  This workshop aims to collect the expertise across the Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration to develop, implement and apply methods to access and interpret variability in M87 and Sgr A*.  The goal is to lay the foundation for the first publications based on black hole movies.

To register for this event, please fill out this form.

Registration for this conference is now closed.

  • Kazunori Akiyama, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Lindy Blackburn, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Katie Bouman, California Institute of Technology
  • Silke Britzen, Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy - via teleconference
  • Andrew Chael, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Roger Deane, University of Pretoria
  • Shep Doeleman, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Joseph Farah, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Christian Fromm, ITP Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Peter Galison, Harvard University
  • Boris Georgiev, University of Waterloo
  • Roman Gold, ITP Goethe University
  • José L. Gómez, Institute of Astrophysics of Andalusia
  • Mareki Honma, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
  • Lei Huang, Shanghai Astronomical Observatory
  • Britton Jeter, University of Waterloo
  • Michael Johnson, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Rusen Lu, Shanghai Astronomical Observatory
  • Yosuke Mizuno, ITP Goethe University
  • Kotaro Moriyama, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Iniyan Natarajan, Rhodes University
  • Chunchong Ni, University of Waterloo
  • Hiroki Okino, University of Tokyo
  • Daniel Palumbo, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Dom Pesce, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Oliver Porth, University of Amsterdam
  • Venkatessh Ramakrishnan, Universidad de Concepcion
  • Freek Roelofs, Radboud University
  • Fumie Tazaki, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan
  • Paul Tiede, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
  • Maciek Wiegus, Black Hole Initiative
  • Lin Xi, Shanghai Astronomical Observatory
  • Ye-Fei Yuan, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Guang-Yao Zhao, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
  • Shan-Shan Zhao, Radboud University

Scientific Organizers:

  • Avery Broderick, Perimeter Institute & University of Waterloo
  • Hung-Yi Pu, Perimeter Institute